top of page
Search
  • abrown89

Save $$$ on Food

Updated: Nov 29, 2020

With a growing family of 6, I have to shop strategically. Before shopping, I must check off the steps listed in my first post Menu Planning.


1) Check for foods I already have.

2) Plan 2-week menu

3) Check grocery store sales

4) Make grocery list

5) Know your food budget


Explore weekly sales and incorporate them into your meals. For example: This week’s sale on whole wheat pasta is 2 for $2.00. Two boxes last 3 meals so I plan my menu to include pasta for 2 Dinners and 1 Lunch.


Save $ on Food

· Buy in Bulk

· Buy IN SEASON produce

· Shop Farmers Markets

· Plant your own home garden

BUY IN BULK

Locate your closest produce market to buy food in bulk for wholesale. Cut out the middleman and middleman price. Just be sure you have some way to store the extra food!


BUY IN SEASON/FARMERS MARKET

Farmer’s Markets are my favorite way to buy produce. The local fruits/veggies taste fresh and you’re supporting farmers. These scrumptious morsels were purchased at Mattapan Farmers Market for $5.00 a shopping bagful! Click here to find a Farmer’s Market near you.



COMMUNITY/HOME GARDEN

Want to teach your children appreciation for where their food comes from? Community and home gardens are a great tool; If they don’t work, they don’t eat. We are removed from this way of thinking because it’s not taught. Ever consider where your produce has to travel from to get to you?



Visit my podcast and stop by my YouTube video as I interview family on cooking together!

15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

You can subscribe HERE

Thanks for submitting!

©2020 by Kitchen Lifestyles. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page